The Bulawayo Club was founded in 1895 and three buildings later, on the same spot, it remains an extraordinary piece of Zimbabwe’s history. The Club was established as a social hub for officers of the armed forces and other gentlemen.
The Club has recently been refurbished but every effort has been made to retain its original features as far as possible. The Club is laid out around an open atrium, three storeys high. Various lounges, dining rooms, card rooms and function rooms and there is a fascinating and extensive collection of art and museum pieces pertinent to the lives of Sir Cecil John Rhodes and his contemporaries, including a dour portrait of the man himself donated by his estate.